Friday, September 2, 2011

Illinois State Genealogical Society 2011 Award Winners

Awards To Be Made At FGS 2011 Conference, Sepember 8, 2011

September 2, 2011 – Springfield, IL. On Thursday, September 8, 2011, seven individuals will be honored by the Illinois State Genealogical Society (ISGS) with awards for their outstanding achievements in the field of genealogy. ISGS will present the awards at the upcoming Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) Annual Conference – Pathways to the Heartland – September 8-10, 2011 in Springfield, Illinois. The recipients include:
  • Robert G. Buecher, of St. Louis, Missouri will receive the ISGS Community Service Award for his work with the St. Clair County Genealogical Society. Buecher has indexed many cemeteries in Southern Illinois; translated numerous church records, created surname indices to historic St. Clair County newspapers, posted genealogy records online including a history of Millstadt, Illinois, and has published numerous books.
  • Elizabeth A. “Libby” Grimm, will posthumously receive the Volkel Hall of Fame Award for her exceptional service to the McDonough County Genealogical Society, the Illinois State Genealogical Society, and the genealogical community at large. Grimm held several ISGS board positions from 1984-2003 and was the recipient of the ISGS Local Service Award in 1981 and its Special Recognition Award in 1990.
  • Mary Matson Hawk and Donald D. Schmidt, both of Toulon, Illinois, will receive the ISGS Individual Writer Award as co-winners this year. This award is selected by the editorial board of the ISGS Quarterly and is for the article Kathleen Matson’s Pioneer Heritage in Stark County, Illinois published in the Illinois State Genealogical Society Quarterly, Volume 42, Number 3, Fall 2010.
  • Sandra Hargreaves Luebking, will posthumously receive the Volkel Hall of Fame Award for her work as editor of the Federation of Genealogical Societies Forum as well as for her service to the Illinois State Genealogical Society. From 1981 through 1987, Luebking served on the ISGS board in several capacities and was a full-time researcher, educator, published author and editor in the genealogy field for 35 years.
  • Nelda Ravens, of Bonfield, Illinois, will receive the ISGS Community Service Award for her service to the Kankakee Valley Genealogical Society since 1969. Ravens has performed important work related to extracting information from local church records and gaining permission to index and indexing county probate records as well as records of the Recorder of Deeds office.
  • Harold Workman, of Naperville, Illinois, will receive the ISGS Special Recognition Award for his unwavering service to the Fox Valley Genealogical Society for the past fourteen years. Workman has held a board position every year since 1997. In addition to those positions, he has served as facilities manager for the FVGS annual fall conference for over 12 years.
Janice Fritsch, ISGS President notes, “Each year ISGS honors people or societies who have given to the genealogical community beyond the ordinary. This year is no exception. Thank you to those who submitted nominees for an ISGS award and congratulations to the award winners.”

© 2011, copyright Illinois State Genealogical Society

No comments: